Lesson # 81- Memorial Day 2023

It was a rainy weekend here in South Carolina. No cookouts were planned and no family visiting. In a way, though, it was very appropriate to have the gray rainy weekend to slow down and think of all those that have made the ultimate sacrifice for our country.

Recently, I have really been feeling disillusioned with our country. I don’t understand where this country is heading and I sometimes long for the simpler years when everyone supported our President and listened to differing views without splintering a family or friends.

However, the Sunday before Memorial Day, I looked around me and I felt saddened that I had those thoughts. Even shame.

Veterans of all ages and mostly those who were part of the Vietnam war were trying to find names of friends or those who fought alongside them.

Set up in a park in Myrtle Beach was the ‘Travelling Wall’. A replica of the Vietnam wall in Washington DC.

The wall is 3/5 the size of the DC wall but names could clearly be read. Alongside the wall was a list of those vets that succumbed to illnesses they had fought since fighting in Vietnam….Agent Orange complications and PTSD come to mind.

Across the way stands the 9-11 wall listing all those who died on that horrible day. All the names of those Vets who died in the many wars since Vietnam were listed there too. Young men who died at 17, 18 years old were there as a poignant reminder that life can be cut so short. One 15 year old was listed as killed in Vietnam. Fifteen! It was staggering that so many young had died in the Vietnam War. The walls left me with a deep sadness and my memories of those Vets that came home to a country that showed them little respect.

The vets have a strong brotherhood. Those that came home from Vietnam. They seemed to have many of the same horrendous memories experienced during their young years. Some vets had tears, some were quietly staring out with their own thoughts, some were making etchings of name of friends on the wall while others explained to their grandchildren bits and pieces of what they experienced during this war.

I saw Army, Air Force, Marines, Navy, Coast Guard and a sprinkling of Army Special Forces. That day all these Vets were brothers. T-shirts that said “proud to have served” were worn while these vets sat with their families who, I’m sure, understood only part of the pain their loved ones endured.

Wreaths were placed all along the Vietnam wall with their banners giving respect to those that died so long ago. A gentleman was wheeled nearby sitting in a wheelchair who proudly wore his Korean War Vet cap. I wondered how old was this man in the Korean War? I assumed he was very very young and he wanted to be amongst other vets that day. I was filled with respect for him.

When we first walked up to the Wall, a Vet asked if he could help us find a name of someone on the Wall. This Vet was just diagnosed the week prior with an Agent Orange disease and my memory went back to living in Arizona and that hospital room where a good friend of ours was fighting for his life with a cancer from Agent Orange. He still had a very young daughter. He passed away much too soon and I couldn’t say a word to this vet knowing what he may face.

I have hesitated to write about a day that has passed but these thoughts have been pressing and I thought that every day should be a Memorial Day while these vets are with us. I pray that all the emotions I felt that day will always be with me. I don’t want to forget the pride I felt of these vets who loved and love their country now no matter the politics of the day. Those that gave their lives when so young loved our country and we should never forget those souls nor the vets I saw on that day.

It was good to hear “God bless America” and it was good to sing that song and good to put my hand on my heart while saying the Pledge of Allegiance. It was good to thank those vets for their service and shake their hands. Sometimes we all just need a reminder.

Thank you for reading.

Leigh

Leave a comment