LESSON #34 – Downsizing…Way Down

photo.JPG

We did it!  We took the plunge and FINALLY downsized.  Boy, did we ever.  We ‘graduated’ to a small one bedroom condo in the middle of a small walkable little downtown area of small town USA.  I think that describes our little town of Woodstock located North of Atlanta.

Population 23,865 (but who’s counting?), 30 miles to Atlanta, 30 miles to the North Georgia mountains and, hence, two hours from the lake house we will continue to enjoy, 35 miles from the international airport and 12 miles to a good hospital (just in case).

You may recall I shared our search for a home to be closer to our children and grands.  How long have we been looking?  For many moons.  Houses (with master on main), townhouses with lots of steps, retirement communities, golfing communities, log cabin communities, ocean communities, lake communities, riverfront communities, condos and more condos……I think that’s it.  It’s been a journey.

This journey has ended.  We FINALLY decided we did not want to take care of another lawn or a house and we were done.  NO!  Not another one. DONE with that. Nor did I want to clean a large abode. Again I say…..DONE!  Our better judgment took over.

We are in the middle of trying to settle in.  Also, I find that I did not sell enough nor   give away or thrown away nearly enough STUFF when we moved out of our home home.  PURGE people!  When you think you are finished.  Look again and purge some more.  Nightmare!  Goal now is to empty our storage unit.

It feels like home….NOT.  However, I love our little town of Woodstock, established in 1897, with its many restaurants, bistros, boutiques, home flavor bars,  flower shop, weekend farmer markets, nail and hair salons, artsy craftsy stores, amphitheater, 3 miles of walking trails with more miles to come,  free entertainment, festivals, fairs, a no fare trolley, a brewery, community theatre…….I think that’s it…..oooh and an Ace hardware.  The best part of this all is everything is within walking distance of our little condo.  We have always wanted to live in a small town and walk to everything important and here we are.  Not 100 percent truthful.  Fact is I always dreamed of living in Manhattan, a not so small town,  up above it all with an elevator directly to our flat!  Trump move over.  No such luck.  This may be second best.

Furniture.  Need some.  The prices of couches have changed since I last shopped for one and I have decided I am not buying a couch that will last longer than I will.  El cheapo..no.. but not too expensive either.  In between.  That is the way to go for me.  So, perhaps, in five years I can change it out for another.  Size of the furniture is important also.  No longer may I use that seven foot buffet that I loved so much in my last house.  Small scale.

But here I am.  The world is my oyster.  The neighbors are extremely nice, people on the sidewalks in our little town are very nice. Bartenders and hostesses may get to know us and say, “Hi Bob, Hi Leigh”…..”Sometimes you want to go to where everybody knows your name.”

So, now what?  Get settled and live.  Enjoy my children who are now living closer than before.  Take advantage of what my new little town has to offer.  Maybe take a course at the local community college which is also walkable!

BUT WAIT.  Truth be told.  I am feeling a little out of my element.  Not settled in my soul. Small decisions are difficult and I’m a bit unsure of myself.  Oh, who’s kidding.  A lot unsure of myself.  Is this what happens to those of us in our golden years?  Or is it because choices are fewer and time is of the essence and not for wasting on these frivolous unimportant decisions?  I wonder.

Wish me luck in our new home!

Leigh

“You make what seems to be a simple choice:  

Choose a man or a job or a neighborhood–

and what you have chosen is not a man or a job

or a neighborhood, but a life”

                                               Writer, Jessamyn West

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “LESSON #34 – Downsizing…Way Down

  1. Ginny chmielewski says:

    We just downsized also . Moved next door from large house to 2400 sq. ft. and I am still purging! The kids don’t want our stuff… So I have been slowly furnishing friends children’s homes. It is so hard to part with some things! Especially when it is great s tuff but doesn’t work for the New space. Ron is the worst! I think he kept every tool and gadget he, his. Father, and brother ever owned! Try to enjoy! I know Woodstock ! We know some Friends children who live in that charming town. If you get down to the east coast of Florida give us a call. We are on the beach and do have some room for guests. Fun!

    Like

  2. Linda Comey says:

    We did it, too! We left 4700 sq.ft. and moved to 2300 sq.ft. No attic space and no basement,so we are continually weeding out. I would love more room, but I want to simplify our lives more. We have enough room for the daughter with 4 kids to visit occasionally and plenty of space for entertaining. It’s our “play pod” with pool included in sunny Florida.
    We still have storage space and we still have a cabin in Iowa where more stuff is being stored. BUT the cabin will be sold in the near future and we are aiming to get rid of the storage space.

    Like

  3. Thanks Tom! No guest room here I’m afraid! There is a hotel down the road. LOL

    Like

  4. Tom says:

    When we moved to Arizona we found a house near the grandkids which made visiting and helping very easy. The downside was the house was a compromise at first. Then realizing that having guests on the same side of the house was a touch strange in the mornings when we all would wake up. We then found the house style we really wanted with our MBR on one side and all the others on the other side. So it was yet another move with the obligitory trashing of those collectibles and other stuff. Most of our Jersey stuff is long gone. Change is good? Yes it is. Just enjoy the one are with.

    Like

Leave a comment